Senior Sentiments

Somewhere amongst my assignments and after school commitments, I’ve found myself lost in emotion. With three and a half weeks left until graduation, I’m beginning to plan for the end of high school. From printing off pictures for softball senior night to cleaning out the garage for my open house, it seems like there is no end to the mountain of tasks. 

FullSizeRender (4)

Before leaving for a job interview I got to leaf through some old photos with my mom. It was surreal. There she was, standing next to her grown daughter, looking back on the years. I couldn’t remember most of the events that our Kodak library depicted, yet she recalled where each photograph was taken and how I reacted to her taking it. 

I felt a twinge of guilt. I was about to leave my family. Suddenly, it felt wrong to celebrate graduation. Although it would be a celebratory moment, the imminent changes would bring them joy and sadness.

As graduation nears, the effects of this reality are more prevalent than ever.

My father cried as my mother showed him the open house invitations.

My sister constantly reminds me that she will call me as much as possible.


At the mention of “college,” my little brother will cry and grasp my legs with all his might. Sometimes he’ll release me only to lock and guard the doors.

FullSizeRender (5)

Then there was my mother. She stood with me and we searched through hundreds of photographs. We’d find a photo, a hidden treasure, and burst out laughing.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

