Super Me?

We’ve all wanted to be a superhero or possess at least one superpower at some point in our lives. As a kid, I would look up at the sky and be jealous of the birds soaring through the air. When asked which superpower I wanted, flight was my go-to answer. I’m pretty sure we all have a rote superpower answer. It’s human nature to desire something we could never have.

If you could possess any superpower, which power would you choose?

That’s a good choice. It definitely has some benefits; however, you chose wrong.

Most of us have bought into the lie of superpowers at one point or another.

I see a clear distinction between an ability and a superpower, but we tend to get those confused. I would love to have the ability to fly, but I wouldn’t want flight as a superpower.

superpowerAn ability is something you were gifted with or have learned. A superpower comes from a source that is beyond or outside of you. You can’t own a superpower like you can an ability. I have the ability to write, but would my words mean as much if they were the result of a superpower? I’d rather write with less gusto and know that every single word came from my ability than to write something that was the product of a radioactive typewriter ribbon.

There are a lot of things I have the ability to do that I wouldn’t take a superpower for. Although superheroes still train and prepare, they can’t fathom the pride that comes from doing something completely on your own accord.

I’d rather be an ability focused version of me than one who can fly.

Superpower Photograph

 

Leave a Reply

